Latest redneck rig

Discussion in 'General Chatter & Off Topic' started by Jack Pine, Jun 12, 2019.

1. Jack Pine

Jack Pine Active Member

Fruit trees require a lot of spraying. I have several 2 gallon pump-up sprayers that I use that are a nuisance because they are too small to do the job in a timely manner, need constant filling and pumping and don't have enough pressure to do a good job in the very tops of the tallest trees. Then I got this idea to get a 4 gallon battery-powered backpack sprayer. Not as good as I hoped, with the battery and full of spray, it about killed me and was worse than the small sprayers. Then I started playing with the idea of using my old Harbor Freight pressure washer. Works great, sprays like a maniac. Has an adjustable spray that takes about 4 seconds to spray a whole tree, and can adjust to reach the top of my tallest apple trees. Best of all, the high-pressure hose is long enough that I can do it all sitting on my butt on Kubo. Just drive around and spray. I eventually hope to get rid of the generator and run it off a 2 kilowatt inverter that I have by connecting it to the tractor battery. This has made this dreaded job ALMOST enjoyable.
    For some reason, I keep getting an error message when I try to load the pic, but I'll keep at it. OK finally got it, had to reduce the file size.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
  2. Masboy

Masboy Active Member

Nice rig, great ideal! them tractors ain,t just for riding :p

Jack Pine likes this.
  3. jacol84

jacol84 Active Member

Jack Pine will not be defeated! Nice engineering Cal.:D

xcaliber and Jack Pine like this.
  4. Stalker

Stalker Member

Great Idea! Your inspiring!

Jack Pine likes this.
  5. Jack Pine

Jack Pine Active Member

I made sure I flushed it out good by hooking up the garden hose and running clear water through it for a few minutes when I was done. Almost can't wait for the rain to stop so I can do it again.

6. Stalker

Stalker Member